Bev’s Pork Chop with Mustard Cream with Roasted Potatoes and Kale

February 19, 2010 § 1 Comment

Not to be a total bragasaurus, but I made the BEST dinner on Monday night.  At the Dupont Market on Sunday I bought one single, thick pork chop from my darling Bev for $3.50. For the price his high end cuts go for, this may be the best deal at the market.  I decided to make it Monday night because I just really needed a good meal.  I’ve been making a lot of very blah meals the past week or so, and needed that reassurance that I can, in fact, cook.  Well, this was just what the doctor ordered. I’m now getting an inflated ego over this meal, but if I’m going to be honest… the pig really did all the work here. This meal would have been just alright with a chop from any other animal- but with one from Bev’s pig… it was practically a religious experience. 

Oh how I WISH I had taken a picture of the pork chop raw. It had this gorgeous 3/4 inch layer of pure white fat along one side, and a frenched bone. It was truly artistic. When seared in the hot pan, the fat got crispy on the outside and meltingly tender in the center.  Oooh… it gives me delicious chills even thinking about it now. 

This is also a perfectly seasonal meal, and nearly everything in it is locally and sustainably produced.  The kale is from Sunnyside Farm at Dupont, and the potatoes are from my Star Hollow CSA. The exceptions are the usuals- Maille mustard (it is the best, there is no substitute), chardonnay (from CA), kosher salt. I did get a little fancy and use local crushed red pepper- last month I got a dried cayenne pepper from my CSA and crushed it myself. I feel like I get double points for that one 🙂 

Mustard Coated Pork Chop in a Dijon Cream Sauce, with Roasted Fingerling Potatoes and Kale

1 EcoFriendly Foods Pork Chop

2 tbsp Maille Mustard (or other good Dijon), separated

1 tbsp pork fat (bacon grease, preferably from EcoFriendly bacon- I have seriously loyalties)

Handful of fingerling potatoes (like 6-8 maybe? Depends on how hungry you are)

1 cup kale, chopped

1 shallot, finely chopped

1/4 cup milk or cream

1/4 cup white wine (I used Chardonnay, dry Riesling would work well too)

salt 

red pepper flakes

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400. 

Melt bacon fat in a hot cast iron/heavy bottom, oven proof skillet. Slice potatoes in half and put them cut side down into the skillet. Leave them alone while you prep the pork. Pat pork chop dry, then rub down all over with 1 tbsp mustard, and salt liberally (for real, don’t get stingy here). Check potatoes, the underside should be crispy and browned. Flip the potatoes, push the to the outside of the pan and lay the the chop in the center. Cook it until well browned on each side (about 2-3 minutes on high heat),add the kale the the pan, then throw the skillet in the oven for about 4-5 minutes.  Mince shallots while you wait. Pull the skillet out and transfer the chop, the kale and potatoes to plate. 

Add shallots to pan (and more fat if needed).  Deglaze the pan by pouring in wine and letting it bubble away. Once reduced, add rest of mustard and milk or cream. Stir together, let reduce a little more, then pour over your pork chop.  

This meal is only local, seasonal, delicious, fast, and easy… it also only uses 1 pan (I hate doing dishes). Plus if you use cast iron you just have to pour in a little water while its hot and wipe out with a paper towel. It doesn’t get easier than this. (BTW, if you wash your cast iron skillet with water and soap, please stop before you break my heart.)

§ One Response to Bev’s Pork Chop with Mustard Cream with Roasted Potatoes and Kale

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bev’s Pork Chop with Mustard Cream with Roasted Potatoes and Kale at Sustainable in the City.

meta

