The Squash Drops at Midnight

January 1, 2010 § Leave a comment

Well, this is it folks.  5 hours and counting. I got a little nervous about my food situation so I decided to take some inventory of my local food stuffs.  I’m actually feeling much better now, I have a legitimate stock and have more coming in the next couple days.  I pick up from my CSA on Saturday morning, and can go to the Dupont Farmers Market on Sunday morning. If I can just get through Friday I’ll be ok… and now I know I can. 

Here’s what I’ve got:

1 whole chicken (EcoFriendly Foods)

1.5 qts chicken stock (made with farmers market veggies and EcoFriendly chicken bones), plus 1 chx back for making more

2 lbs Whole Wheat Flour (Moutoux Orchards)

2 pkgs Bev’s Bacon (EcoFriendly Foods)

2 lbs All Natural Hot Dogs (EcoFriendly Foods)

2.5 lbs Chicken Livers (Ecofriendly and Pecan Meadows)

1 lb Santa Lucia Vienna Roast Coffee

2 containers Oliver’s Puppy Pate (yes, the poodle is eating  locally too. I throw everything but the bones that is leftover from making stock into a food processor and voila- gourmet dog food.)

1 container plain yogurt (Blue Ridge Dairy Co.)

1 qt Milk (Trickling Springs Creamery)

1 dz Eggs (The Hen’s Nest- Windsor, MD)

Apricot Preserves (McClutchons- MD)

Bacon grease (from Bev’s Bacon)

leftover sweet potatoes and sweet potato soup

Peach Blossom Honey (Toigo Orchards)

        (all from various farms at Dupont Market)

Bunch of Kale

Broccoli

Pink Fingerling Potatoes

1 red onion

1 white onion

1 head garlic

1 Cinderella Squash

I was feeling a little nervous, but as it turns out I have a lot more local food than I thought.  I’ll clean out my fridge and pantry this weekend so I can really see what I have and what I need to buy, but I feel much more confident than I thought. I can start to plan meals around this food. I can really live this way.  I’m sure taking lunch to work will be a change, but the Kitchen is getting more and more local food each day as well… so hopefully by this summer i’ll be able to eat a lot of what they serve.  

I’m excited about this. And I’m excited about 2010!  It’s time to go ring in the new year with some champagne and my favorite girl.

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Squash Drops at Midnight at Sustainable in the City.

meta

